FOM Committees

FOM activities and projects are planned and managed by committee. Here’s an overview of active FOM committees for the 2018-2019 school year, including contact information for co-chairs and brief descriptions of what each committee does.

 

Contact us if you’d like to be involved in any of these areas. We are seeking chair people to lead all committees marked with an asterisk (*).

ADMINISTRATION

Chair: Jean Lorence, jlorence@nhsfriendsof music.org

Responsibilities include recording and distributing meeting minutes, soliciting and coordinating volunteers and other miscellaneous support activities.

PERMITS

Chair: Laura Hindermann, laura.hindermann@comcast.net

Works with officers and event chairs to request permits for all FOM meetings and events.

PUBLICITY

Co Chairs:

Caroline Rufo, crufo@nhsfriendsofmusic.org

Anne Finucane, atfinucane@comcast.net

Works with officers, event chairs and student leaders to publicize meetings, shows, events and fundraisers to NHS students and faculty, parents and broader community. Helps build awareness in Needham community of FOM mission. Manages email newsletter and event photography.

* WEBMASTER

Seeking co-chairs

Manages and updates FOM website.

* FOOD

Chair: Christine Holland, cholland1129@yahoo.com

Coordinates and purchases meals and refreshments for various shows, rehearsals and events that extend into meal times — including tech week rehearsals. Works with Administrator to identify volunteer needs.

 

CONCESSIONS

Co Chairs:

Sondae Varga, sovarga@gmail.com

Stacy Gauthier, gauthier.stacy@gmail.com

Coordinates and purchases concessions items to sell for profits at various shows and events. Works with Administrator to identify volunteer needs.

 

COMMUNITY OUTREACH

Co Chairs:

Alison Atallah, aatallah@nhsfriendsofmusic.org

Sandra Batra, sbatra@nhsfriendsofmusic.org

Connects various community groups with FOM and NHS students to collaborate on fundraisers and other joint efforts; for example, recruiting student vocalists and musicians to volunteer as background entertainment at the Needham Women’s Club annual Holiday House Tour fundraiser.

 

SCHOLARSHIPS

Seeking co-chairs

Evaluates student applicants in their senior year for FOM scholarships. In 2018, FOM awarded $8,000 in scholarship money.

EVENT COMMITTEES

SAMD

Co-Chairs:

Amy Baron, abaron@nhsfriendsofmusic.org

Stacy Gauthier, sguatheir@nhsfriendsofmusic.org

 

NHS Awards Celebration & Cabaret

Co-Chairs:

Sandra Batra, sbatra@nhsfriendsofmusic.org

Stacy Gauthier, sguatheir@nhsfriendsofmusic.org

Sondae Varga, svarga@nhsfriendsofmusic.org

 

Junior Districts

Co-Chairs:

Diane Godes, dgodes@nhsfriendsofmusic.org

Vidya Shanker

 

*Winterfest

Seeking co-chairs

Fundraising concert held in early December featuring NHS A Cappella Groups and other various school ensembles.

*A Cappella Go

Seeking co-chairs

Mid-winter fundraising concert with performances by NHS a cappella groups and college groups featuring NHS alumni.

*Vocal Support

Seeking co-chairs

Spring a cappella concert to raise money for a student-selected charity with performances by NHS a cappella groups and guest high school a cappella groups from surrounding towns.

© NHS Friends of Music